A Runner Wannabe

The day was July 24, 2011.  On a whim, my sister Joy enlisted me to join the Rexona Adventure Run at the Mall of Asia. I was excited and terrified at the same time because I’ve never ran in my whole adult life.
With no training or knowledge about running, Patrick and I showed up to the venue 2 hours before gun start.  I ran the 5K race.  It was so painful because of the cramps on the outer sides of my legs. While feeling like my chest was about to explode and completely out of breath, I asked myself, “What am I doing?”  I couldn’t blame anybody because nobody forced me to join. Haha!  Well, I did not run the whole time, I walked probably half of the 5K.
At last, I was able to finish after what seemed to be the longest 52 minutes of my life.  But do you know what?  By the time I crossed the finish line I knew I was hooked, just like that.  There’s just something about crossing that finish line.  It was amazing!
I want to be a runner!
first-time runners

“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” John Bingham

2 thoughts on “A Runner Wannabe

Leave a Reply

