2011 Run United 3: My First 10K Race

‘Twas a long morning.  I was up at 3am and ate my bananas plus half a bottle of sports drink, my pre-race combo.

The race venue was in Mall of Asia, about 25 minutes away from my house. I was just in Macapagal Blvd., when I saw the 32k runners!  They have already started. Ugggh, I felt like throwing up.  I was so anxious and excited at the same time.  I was going to run my first 10k race!

The parking lot was packed at 4:30am.  I had to find a parking space!  Fortunately for me, I was able to find one really fast.  I already felt like a winner.  haha!

minutes before gun start

When the 10k race started, I felt so happy.   The runners were in high spirits and the excitement was unmistakable.    It was a nice course: flat and we ran parallel to the Manila Bay. When I reached the 5K u-turn the sun was already up and it was getting hot. Thankfully, the hydration stations had cold ice water and Powerade.  At 8K, I was really very tired and sleepy!  I literally closed my eyes for a few seconds while running.  Joy later on said that must have been hypoglycemic.  But no, I was sleepy because I only had 3 hours of sleep the night before.  I was just too excited. 🙂

At the 9K mark, I was breathing hard but I felt strong.  I could already see the finish line and hear the music.  One more turn and I crossed the finish line.  I did it!!! I finished my first 10K run and I felt great.

I did it!
Leave a Reply

