My First Trail Run: Salomon Xtrail Run 2012

I signed up for my first trail run just because I was fascinated by this poster. LOL.  And I am so glad I did!

Runners came early to the Tagaytay Highlands for the Salomon XTrail Run last Saturday.  We were told that there were 1,000 participants for this event, a record breaking number.  Congratulations Salomon!

As first time trail runners, my sister, brother-in-law, and I were a little apprehensive when we saw the start of the trails.  We were not sure of what to expect.
Single file at the start of the trails.

There were steep climbs…

Can you already feel our pain?  lol
Smiling and panting at the same time!

…and slippery descents:

I loved the roped segment
Now what?  How do we go down?

Fortunately, there were also flat segments.

Check out the goats!
Go, go go!
There was never a dull moment.  The course kept on changing:  from asphalt, to dirt, mud, concrete, gravel, then back to asphalt again.
It was good day for running, cloudy and not too hot.  It had rained days before the event but thank God for blessing us with a fantastic weather that morning.
I loved the view of the mountains and the clean, cool, fresh air.  Ahh, it was good for the lungs 🙂
Needless to say, this first-time trail runner is happy…tired but happy 🙂  Thank you Salomon and race director Neville Manaois for giving me the most restful sleep that night.
Tired but happy feet.

 

Leave a Reply

