Birthday at Teofely Gardens and Nuvali

Yesterday was my brother-in-law’s birthday.  The owners of Teofely Gardens in Silang gave him two rooms for an overnight stay. Included were free meals: afternoon snack, dinner, and breakfast.  Of course my kids and I tagged along 🙂  Yes, we’re free loaders.  lol.

When we arrived, we hit the pool right away.  The water was cold!  How refreshing! We were the only guests so it was nice and private.  After a while they served us a very creamy carbonara pasta dish.  It was delicious!  Then we swam some more until dinner time.  By then we were very tired and famished.  Dinner was mixed vegetables, fish fillet, and garlic rice.  It was an excellent meal.  Yummy!

Then after a good night’s rest, my sister, my brother-in-law and I went to Nuvali for our early morning run.  My brother-in-law did some speed drills while my sister and I followed the progressive adaptation drill.  We started at 1 minute run, 1 minute walk until we reached 9 minutes run and 1 minute walk.  Then we tried running for 15 minutes and then walked to cool down.

My sister couldn’t believe it.  Before today, she has never run continuously for more than 4 minutes.  And she was amazed that she was able to run for 15 minutes without stopping and she didn’t get tired at all! 🙂

We ran at a steady pace, being mindful of our running forms.  We made sure that the ball of our feet landed below the GCM (body’s General Center of Mass), avoided landing on our heels, slightly bent knees, forward lean from the ankles, and with shoulders relaxed and aligned with hips and ankles.

I still have trouble in pulling my foot up using the hamstrings and keeping the quads relaxed.  I don’t know how long it will take to unlearn my poor running form.  Sometimes I overstride, reaching my foot in front of me. I really have to train some more.

Happy after our morning run
After Nuvali, we headed back to Teofely Gardens for another dip in the pool.  We wanted to stay longer but we headed back home when it started to rain.
To my brother-in-law:  happy birthday to you and may you have many more healthy and happy years ahead of you. Thanks for inviting us to your fun celebration.

Thank you Teofely Gardens for your hospitality.  Your service was very impressive and the food was first rate.

Leave a Reply

