Celebrating My First Anniversary as a Runner

Today, July 24, 2012 is my first anniversary as a runner.  What better way to celebrate it than with a nice run.  I went to Island Cove early this evening and ran alone.  There were no other runners on the island.

all by myself

It was very quiet on the island.  It gave me a chance to think and I realized that running has changed my life in a number of ways:

  • When I go to shopping malls, I find myself gravitated to sport specialty stores, when before I seldom enter them.
  • When I enter a bookstore, the first things I check out are running magazines and books.
  • I now have more running shirts and shorts.
  • I ask a lot of questions when buying a new pair of running shoes, when before I buy them if I like the color or if they’re on sale 🙂
  • My family and friends almost always would give me running accessories as gifts.
  • I drink more glasses of water.
  • I love to visit websites and blogs dedicated to running.
  • After a run, removing my sweat soaked sports bra makes me happy.  I know! It’s gross. haha! Well, you know what they say:

Anyway, after an hour of running, I went home soaked in sweat and happy.  Then I fixed myself a bowl of kani salad for dinner.  That’s my no-fuss celebration of my anniversary.

Anniversary dinner 🙂

I can say that running has not taken over my life. Running enhanced it.

Thank you Lord for this past year.  I pray for more years of running.

 

Leave a Reply

