30-Day Challenge: No Meat

In the last year I have gained 4 lbs.  It’s a painful surprise, really because of all the running I’ve been doing.  Funny thing is I started running to lose weight.  And now, a year after, I haven’t lost a single pound, instead I gained 4 more.

I know, I know, I didn’t watch what I ate.

My sister showed me this video of Matt Cutts:  Try something new for 30 days.  It said:

“The next 30 days are going to pass whether you like it or not, so why not think about something you have always wanted to try and give it a shot for the next 30 days?” (Matt Cutts)

Here’s the video link:  Matt Cutts: Try something new for 30 days

Think of something you have always wanted to try… I’ve always wanted to lessen my meat intake.  Therefore I have decided to go for the challenge:  No meat for 30 days.  Meat will include beef, pork, chicken, lamb, and fish.  I want this to work out but this will be a real challenge to me as members of my family are meat lovers.
Day 1 was yesterday, August 1.  We only had some bananas, mangoes, and some bok choy and bell peppers. Hmmm, what can I cook?  I sauteed bok choy with bell peppers and added a little bit of sesame oil.  That was good enough.  I researched on some recipes then I went to the supermarket and bought some more fruits and vegetables.
Day 2 lunch:  Creamy sweet potato and rosemary soup.
My family loved it!  It was delicious and very filling.  I might make this again.  Sweet potatoes are cheap, only P40 (approx. $1) per kilo.  For my afternoon snack I made 2 basil, tomato and cream cheese in whole wheat wraps.  I only used a small amount of cheese, just for the taste.
So far so good.  haha! It’s only Day 2.  I will regularly post updates on this challenge.

Thanks for your support!

2 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge: No Meat

Leave a Reply

