My First Running Injury

I’m interrupting my 30-Day Challenge posts for a quick running post.

This morning during my 5K run, it rained.

I remember my first run in the rain was during the 36th Milo Marathon last July 29.  I’ll let you in a secret, I got injured during that run…I got my first black toenail 😦  No, I won’t post a photo of it…too ugly!  haha!

“Almost everyone who runs gets a black toenail. Getting your first one is a sign that you’ve moved your training into a higher level.” (Jeff Galloway)  What a nice consolation.

There are several causes of black toenail, these are some:

  • too tight shoes and/or socks
  • thick socks
  • long toenails
  • downhill running
 I wore thick socks during the Milo run and they got soaked in rain water around kilometer 17.  My big toe started to feel numb at that point.  When I removed my socks, I saw that my big toe was red, but it wasn’t painful.  I only felt the pain when I got home after an hour.  It only hurt for 3 days then the pain eventually went away.  Were my wet thick socks the culprit? Maybe.
When I was window shopping at Runnr in ATC I saw a very colorful pair of socks called Fusion Elite.  They have cushioned areas for added shock absorption and with breathable feature for moisture management.  I bought a pair. It’s my gift to my feet who take all the beating with the kilometers I put in.

So there you have it, my not-so-pretty secret that I’m now sharing with you. Take care of your feet! 🙂

One thought on “My First Running Injury

Leave a Reply

