Another Day in My Life

This morning, my siblings and I went with our friend Pinky to BGC for our weekend run.  Pinky and my brother Sam ran 16.8km in the Adidas KOTR race while my sister and I ran around BGC.  No, we were not bandits.  We ran a different route on the other side of BGC.  We ran for 75 minutes using the 3 minute run – 1 minute walk sequence.  It was a nice workout.  
Then we waited for Pinky and Sam near the finish line and I bumped into my old classmate in high school!  He was on his cool Brompton bike and was looking for his wife who ran in the race.  It was so nice chatting with you, Jak. 🙂
After a shower, we all went to church.  Then I spent the afternoon sleeping in my old bedroom in my parent’s house.  🙂
Anyway, when I finally went back to my own home, I fixed an easy and simple dinner – Shrimps with lime and cilantro. 
I prepared the shrimps by taking out the heads and cutting through the shell to devein them.  I didn’t put any seasoning on them. 
When I placed them on a hot cast iron grill, I could smell the freshness of the shrimps and the aroma of the sea.  Hmm! 
For the dressing:  In a bowl I mixed lime zest, lime juice, fish sauce, sugar, cilantro, salt, and pepper.  Citrusy, salty, sweet, with a little bit of heat from the chili pepper.  Then I tossed the shrimps in the dressing.  The color of the shrimps contrasted with the green of the cilantro.  Feast for my eyes.
Yummy ending for a very nice day. Try this recipe, it’s really easy.
Shrimps with Lime and Cilantro
1/4 kilo shrimps
Dressing:
zest of 1 lime
juice of 1 lime
1 teaspoon fish sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
salt and pepper to taste
chopped chili pepper (optional)
oil (for the grill)
Leave a Reply

