Easy Breakfast

For several weeks now, I have been eating oatmeal for breakfast.  I bought a package of Bob’s Red Mill steel-cut oatmeal and I absolutely love it!  I love its texture and nutty taste.  I usually make a batch good enough for 6 servings…for the busy mornings of the week.  It actually reheats wonderfully in the microwave.  It stays chewy and tasty.  I put it in a bowl, add the toppings, stir…and I’m done!  Easy.

My breakfast last Monday:  steel-cut oatmeal with 1 sliced banana, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, and a teaspoon of almond butter.  It’s perfect for days when cooking “tapsilog” is just too much work.  I want to eat well, even if I’m short of time.  I’m sure you feel the same way, don’t you?

Healthy and full of fiber

Tuesday breakfast:  steel-cut oatmeal, ripe mango cubes, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds.  The mango cubes made it sweet and the seeds added a very nice texture.  And although many use milk in cooking oatmeal, I only use water.  The oatmeal is creamy enough for me.

This morning we ran out of steel-cut oatmeal so I opened the box of organic rolled oats that my husband brought home several weeks ago.  I have never tried rolled oats before and was quite excited to try some.

Today’s breakfast: rolled oats, macadamia nuts, chia seeds, 1 sliced banana, and 1 teaspoon of chunky peanut butter.  I like my oats a little bit watery but this time I think I cooked it too thick.  It was a little dry for my taste.  Next time I should add more water.

I have posted some of the toppings I’ve tried and I’m still in a hunt for more yummy goodies.  I want to try some of our local nuts like pili, peanut, and cashew.  I have several kinds of nut butter and I can’t wait to try them all.  I think I’m beginning to be an oatmeal addict.  haha!

It takes a longer time to cook steel-cut oatmeal but I actually find it more convenient since I can cook a big batch and then just reheat.  My verdict:  I love steel-cut oats much better than the rolled oats.  But until I’m able to buy more of the steel-cut oats, the rolled oatmeal will work just fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

