Trying Out Green Smoothies

Lately, I have been making green smoothies.  It is a great way to incorporate raw greens into my diet and to get my dose of vitamins and minerals.  I follow the simple recipe of fruit + greens + ice + water.

My first try was a mango-spinach smoothie.  1/2 ripe Guimaras mango, a handful of spinach, ice cubes, plus water.  The result was a vibrant green smoothie.  Fresh, not too sweet, but it tasted “leafy”.  I drank it for breakfast.  It was really filling and I thought I would be hungry by midmorning but I didn’t feel hungry until lunch time.  Excellent!

Next I tried the banana-spinach smoothie.  2 bananas, handful of spinach, ice cubes, and just enough water to blend.  Oh wow!  It seriously tasted like ice cream!  Vibrant green color but no leafy taste.  Yum!  My husband liked it, too.

This afternoon I tried blending watermelon, banana, spinach, ice cubes, and water.  The red watermelon mixed with the green spinach resulted in an olive green smoothie.  Foamy, not too attractive and it tasted as bad as it looked.  I know! This was an epic fail.  Haha!  I drank it anyway because even if it didn’t look nice, it was still packed with nutrients. 🙂

I should try other greens like arugula, kale, romaine, etc.  For fruits, if I want a vibrant green smoothie, then I should use lighter colored fruits such as apples, pears, peaches, bananas, pineapples, and mangoes.  Using darker colored fruits such as berries will result in a darker but still very nutritious smoothie.

Some have testified that after several weeks of drinking green smoothies they felt better and got that “glow”- glowing hair and skin, their nails became stronger, and their eyes were brighter.  Ok, for that reason, I will drink green smoothies for 30 days.  Let’s see what will happen.

More readings:
Four Green Smoothie Recipes
Ode to Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

