Birthday Sunday

Yesterday, after church, my family drove to Alabang Country Club for brunch to celebrate my dad’s 71st birthday.  Around the village, the Unilab Tri United 3 race was still ongoing and the club’s polo field was full of football players.  Everyone seemed to be on the go!

And there was I, sitting lazily on the club’s veranda.  I thought of my TBR batch mates who joined the New Balance 25K run.  “They must be finished by this time,” I said.  I didn’t join them that morning.  It was my dad’s birthday.  Ok, I have an excuse 🙂

At 71, my dad has slowed down but still loves to travel.  So he wears a road id (like what runners wear) just in case of an emergency.  He is a Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA) survivor.  The song below aptly describes what he, my mom, and the whole family went through during those dark times.


I have journeyedThrough the long, dark nightOut on the open sea
By faith aloneSight unknownAnd yet His eyes were watching me
The anchor holdsThough the ship is batteredThe anchor holdsThough the sails are torn
I have fallen on my kneesAs I faced the raging seasThe anchor holdsIn spite of the storm
I’ve had visionsI’ve had dreamsI’ve even held them in my hand
But I never knewThey would slip right throughLike they were only grains of sand
The anchor holdsThough the ship is batteredThe anchor holdsThough the sails are torn
I have fallen on my kneesAs I faced the raging seasThe anchor holdsIn spite of the storm
I have been youngBut I am older nowAnd there has been beautyThat these eyes have seen
But it was in the nightThrough the storms of my lifeOh, that’s where God provedHis love to me
The anchor holdsThough the ship is batteredThe anchor holdsThough the sails are torn

 

  I have fallen on my knees
  As I faced the raging seas
  The anchor holds
  In spite of the storm

The Anchor Holds by Ray Botz

Happy birthday Tatay!
May you have more healthy and fruitful years ahead of you.
Leave a Reply

