Simple Gifts, Great Motivation

Last Saturday, 2 packages were delivered to my doorstep.  My sister-in-law sent me 6 pairs of Reebok socks. Yippee!  I like the colors.  I wore a pair last night for my 80-minute run and they were really comfortable. Thanks!

The other package was from my sister and it contained a book by Dean Karnazes, RUN! 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss.  I’ve already read the best-selling Ultra-Marathon Man so I knew RUN! would be another good read.  I’m already half-way through it.  It’s really easy to read and very funny! It’s also very deep, I should say, it gave me the inspiration I needed.

I’d like to quote from the chapter Run for the Hills:

I explained to her that I trained my body and mind diligently.  I relentlessly condition and prepare, and then I asked a lot of my body in return.  I try to make the best out of which I’ve got; which, personally, I don’t think is a whole heck of a lot.  I’m not a special guy, I told her.  I am not gifted.

Never, however, do I take shortcuts.  There is no path of least resistance in my training.  What I do equates to hard manual labor, disciplined grunt work.  Once you permit yourself to compromise, you fail yourself.  You might be able to fool some people, but you can never fool yourself.  Your toughest critic is the one you face every morning in the mirror.


I am far from great, I told her, “But if you’re passionate and driven, you can accomplish things.”


Thank you both for your gifts and they came at just the right time.  Last weekend my motivation to run was low.  Your simple gifts encouraged me to continue with my marathon training.  Yikes! It’s 102 days before TBRDM!

http://tbrdream.com/
Leave a Reply

