3 Books to Inspire You

When I was young, I seldom read books, and while my sister completed her Nancy Drew and Sweet Dreams series, I played softball with my friends.  I was the catcher or sometimes the third baseman of our team.  I was so into it that my dad gave me my own bat, mitts, and balls for my 11th birthday.  I still have the bat today.

But alas, things have changed.  Now that I’m older (and hopefully wiser), I now find pleasure in reading.  Give me a book and it will make me happy. At night, when all work is done, I treasure my quiet time reading and relaxing.

I read three books over the summer: A Life Without Limits by Chrissie Wellington, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami, and Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic. Three inspiring memoirs, three different lives, three page turners.

A Life Without Limits is Chrissie Wellington’s account on her journey as an ordinary girl from Norfolk to becoming a four-time Ironman World Champion.
Her fierce drive to make the most of things was evident as a student, an amateur athlete, and then even more so as professional athlete. Her blow by blow narration of each Ironman championship was dramatic. Read about my previous post about her here.
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running is a story of Haruki Murakami, a novelist who runs every day.  I like this book because it’s so honest.  Murakami is not a world champion, but an ordinary man who has a passion for running. I can relate to some of his thoughts on runner’s blues and ageing.
Let me quote a paragraph, “I don’t care about the time I run.  I can try all I want, but I doubt I’ll be able to run the way I used to.  I’m ready to accept that.  It’s not one of your happier realities, but that’s what happens when you get older. Just as I have my own role to play, so does time.  And time does its job much more faithfully, more accurately, than I ever do.  Ever since time began (when was that, I wonder?), it’s been moving forward without a moment’s rest.  And one of the privileges given to those who’ve avoided dying young is the blessed right to grow old.  The honor of physical decline is waiting, and you have to get used to that reality.”
The third book is about Nick Vujicic who was born without arms and legs but that didn’t stop him from having a flourishing career and finding love.  He tells about how his supportive family and friends helped him realize that God made him (without limbs) for a purpose. By putting his faith into action, he made a step by step discovery of God’s vision for his life which was far greater than he would have imagined.
In his book Unstoppable, Nick writes different stories from his own life and those of others – stories of career challenges, self-destructive thoughts, health issues, bullying, victories, and how he met his wife! He said, “My hope is that when people who are in pain see that I have a joyful life, they will think, If Nick – without arms and legs – is thankful, then I will be thankful for today, and I will do my best.”
I highly recommend that you also get these books.  Happy reading!
5 thoughts on “3 Books to Inspire You

  1. Hi Sandi. Just dropping by from the Blogathon tonight. I love your book choices. I've just finished the running one by Harumi Murakami myself and loved it. I thought his comments about his triathlon races were quite astounding – especially when he said he'd 'forgotten how to swim'. I know the feeling! Thanks for sharing your great books today.

  2. You're welcome Mikaela. Nick Vujicic recently visited our country and reached out to thousands who needed to hear the hope found in Jesus Christ.

  3. Hi Susan. This is my first Murakami book and I like his style of writing. I'm thinking of getting Norwegian Wood for my next read. Have you read that one?

Leave a Reply

