What I Do Inside the Gym

I’ve read that running will strengthen our muscles but we need to supplement it with an effective weight training program to make us faster and durable runners.

I go to the gym regularly with my eldest son.  He was the one who introduced me to Stronglifts 5×5 workout.  Its website says, “StrongLifts 5×5 is a foolproof training program guaranteed to pack on solid muscle and raw strength… while burning body fat… regardless of your age, genetics and bodytype… in only 3 workouts a week of 45 minutes each.”

They got me at burning body fat.  I gave it a try and now I’m hooked.

I do squats…

bench press…
overhead press (next week I get to use the barbell)…
barbell rows…
and deadlifts.  Yes, I deadlift. 🙂
I’ve been on 5×5 for two months now and I’m feeling stronger and more confident.  People have commented that I looked slimmer when in fact I have not lost a single pound. Maybe that’s because I stand taller.
I think I’ll stick to this program for a while, let’s see what will happen.
Leave a Reply

