5 Foods to Boost Memory

Lately I’ve been very forgetful.  Sometimes I enter a room and then forget why I went there in the first place.

Most of the time I’d forget where I placed my car keys, my cellphone, or my bag!

Yesterday I accompanied my mom to the mall because she needed to buy a dress.  She was able to find a nice one and that made both of us really happy.

Then we went to True Value to buy light bulbs when she received a text. She placed her dress onto something and read the text.  Then we continued with our light bulb purchase.  As we were leisurely walking back to the car she suddenly realized that she forgot the dress in True Value!

We ran back.  I said to myself, “My mom is a fast runner!” Haha.  Anyway, she found the dress right where she left it and we were both relived.  Sigh.

When I got home I researched on some foods that could help improve memory.  Maybe we should incorporate them to our diet.

Here are five super memory booster foods.

1.  Berries – This is a delicious way of boosting your memory.  Berries have high amounts of anthocyanidins and flavanoids that delay age-ralated cognitive decline.

2.  Oily fish – Examples are salmon and sardines which are rich in omega-3, essential for optimum brain performance.
3.  Walnuts – shaped like a brain, walnuts are an excellent source of omega-3 and anti-oxidants which help protect the brain from damage caused by free radicals.
4.  Egg – Best source of vitamin B and lecitin.  The yolk is packed with choline, a basic building block of brain cells that boost memory.
5. Green Tea – For sharper memory and relaxed mind, the Chinese believed that green tea is your best bet.  Researchers have found out that it contains high levels of an anti-oxidant called EGCG which is needed to fight cognitive degeneration. There are no known side effects of green tea.
Leave a Reply

