Yes to Neatness

Let’s talk about being tidy.

I chanced upon this article Dirty Little Secrets of Tidy Families the other day. The article contained four secrets of tidy families. I got stuck after reading secret number one. It made me think about my closet.

1. Their whole family has less stuff.  Less stuff…less stuff.

So I ran to my closet and pulled out all my running shirts and shorts and piled them on the floor.  I was surprised.  I never realized that I had collected that many.
Less stuff.
I gave away almost all my singlets from the races I joined.
Much, much better.

Then I saw my medals.  Don’t get me wrong, I like my medals.  But after taking my photo with them and then blogging about them, those medals actually have no use for me.  For most runners, I did the unthinkable.  I threw all my medals away except for my one and only marathon medal.  That one was special.  I couldn’t throw it away.  No, I just couldn’t.

The Bull Runner Dream Marathon 2013 finisher’s medal
I did feel a little better after the purging, like the haze cleared up.
Anyway, I always tell my sons to keep their rooms tidy and to clean up after their own mess.  I want them to realize that there’s no need to hold on to things we don’t really need.  My future daughters-in-law will thank me for this. Haha.
No to eyesore.  No to clutter.  Yes to space.  Yes to neatness.
4 thoughts on “Yes to Neatness

Leave a Reply

