The Best is Yet to Come

I just went through dark and scary days.  I never imagined anything like that would happen to me. But I didn’t face it alone.  The Lord was with me and His grace IS sufficient.

A bend on the road

A bend on the road


Let me write two quotes by David Jeremiah from his book, A Bend on the Road:

“No matter how sharp the bend in the road, no matter how disruptive the moment (those unanticipated events, most of which one would usually have chosen to avoid had it been possible), everything that happens to us is for the eternal purposes of God. He is training us through the process. Like any worthy parent, He wants to teach us what we cannot learn any other way.”

“You will be faced with a trial and God will give you two gifts: A scripture for your mind and a song for your heart.”

Yesterday I ran a short 3.4 km.  It was raining.  I could hear my feet as they paced through puddles. Everything else was quiet on the island. I watched the waves in the ocean.  It was very calming and in the silence the song Who am I came to my mind. It said, 

I am a flower quickly fading
Here today and gone tomorrow
A wave tossed in the ocean
A vapor in the wind
Still You here me when I’m calling
Lord You catch me when I’m falling
And You’ve told me who I am
I am Yours.

I actually sang it while I was running. And then I also remembered the verse from Romans:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Last night, there on the island, I received my two gifts: my song and my Scripture verse.  I am so grateful.

I am His and I believe everything happens for a reason, for a purpose. I don’t know it yet but I am excited for what’s in store for me in the coming days. The best is yet to come.

One thought on “The Best is Yet to Come

Leave a Reply

