That’s What Friends Are For

I’ve been hemorrhaging for over two weeks now.  My hemoglobin count has dropped below the normal level. My doctor says I should skip Milo’s 21K race on Sunday. Waaaa!  Sayang, I really trained hard for this race.  But I can’t be too cocky, right?  I have to follow my doctor’s advise. Anyway, there will be other races I can run when I get better. *Sigh.*

As I’ve said in my last post, it had been a crazy month for me.  So to get my mind off things, my husband bought two tickets for the dinner concert of Dionne Warwick and Tavares.

It was held at The Tent City of the Manila Hotel last Saturday.  Oh we enjoyed listening to A Penny for your ThoughtsHeaven Must be Missing an AngelAlfieYou’ll Never Get to Heaven if you Break my HeartI’ll Never Love this Way Again, and many other old songs. It was a very relaxing evening.

After the show we decided to spend the night in the hotel and the next morning we woke up to this view:

Beautiful. It reminded me of Lamentations 3.

The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.”

Anyway, I am amazed on how friends, both near and far have shown their support to me.  One night I walked to my neighbor’s house to get my books. When she saw me, she asked, “Are you ok? Let me pray for you.”  She did. Right there, in front of her house.

A carpenter who worked in my recent living room renovation came by early one rainy morning.  He was on his bike and was wearing a rain coat.  I was surprised when he said, “I just want to see if everything’s ok.” Then he handed me a plastic bag with seven santol  that he picked from his tree.  How thoughtful of him!

My BFF (best friend forever) lives in Canada and is always busy, non-stop with her work.  But she made sure to always send me messages and to pray for me.

As Dionne would sing,

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me, for sure
That’s what friends are for
For good times and bad times
I’ll be on your side forever more
That’s what friends are for.

Thank you friends for caring.
2 thoughts on “That’s What Friends Are For

Leave a Reply

