Beaten black and blue but still running

I’m back.

Last month our business was robbed – a huge case of qualified theft.  Then last Monday our place was flooded brought about by the non-stop rains of Maring.  The water current was so strong that our fence collapsed so that the water from the rice field in front of us freely flowed to the other rice field behind us.  It was like we were in the middle of the ocean.  It was really scary.

When the flooding subsided, our friends came to help. They helped us wash away the mud that covered everything! One came with his tow-truck and and one by one towed our cars to the repair shop.  Another friend, upon seeing the collapsed wall of our fence promised to give us one load of concrete from a cement mixer truck.  We’d just have to tell him when we’re ready and he’d have it delivered. Oh God bless your hearts!

We suffered a great loss, but these are just material things.  Our family is safe and healthy, and that’s what’s more important. After all these things, I can only say,

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked I shall return there. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away. Blessed be the name of the LORD.” Job 1:21

On a lighter side, another reason why I haven’t been blogging is because I’m back in school.  Yes, that’s right!  I’m enrolled in a culinary school for a basic bread and pastry course. It’s taking so much of my time and I’m really enjoying it, although my waistline is suffering. Haha. I never knew that kneading dough could be so much fun. I feel happy eating smelling freshly baked bread.  Hmm…Yum!

Anyway, I still regularly run and lift weights in the gym, except for this week because of the flooding.  And guess what?  I signed up for TBR Dream Marathon 2014.  It will be my second marathon and I’ll be running with Jehan and her best friend, Pinky.

TBR Dream Marathon 2014

I guess life goes on. Our training starts next month. Cheers!

One thought on “Beaten black and blue but still running

  1. Great read!
    Do not fear for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10.

Leave a Reply

