LSD with Dreamers from the South

After seven weeks of training, there’s one thing I’m sure of: marathon training is not easy.

For TBRDM, we follow a training program that is progressive, meaning we were not expected to run high mileage in week one.  The  long runs started at 50 minutes and then last weekend, we were required to run for 2 hours and 20 minutes.  That way, our bodies get use to the rigours of running 42 kilometers by progressively stepping up the load.

Last Saturday, Jehan and I joined a group of TBRDM dreamers for the LSD.

It was our first time to meet them and they gave us a warm welcome.  When we started running, I was left behind.  It was quite embarrassing because they had to stop and wait for me so I won’t get lost. I told them not to stop and that I’d just catch up.  Once in a while, Jet, the organizer of the run, would look back to check on me.  I’d give him two thumbs up and after seeing that I was ok, he’d run again.  Thanks Jet!

TBRDM LSD

Break at 9km. Free ice-cold water and Gatorade from Jet’s mansion.

At one point, Louie ran with me. I told him to run ahead but he stayed and joked that he was the sweeper. He also told me to focus on my breathing. Ah, this was one of the reasons why I like to run with people, I learn a lot from them. Thanks Louie!

When I finally crossed our imaginary finish line, everyone was genuinely happy for me.  They gave me high fives because I just ran my longest for this year’s training cycle.  Hurray!

TBRDM LSD

Yay! We finished 🙂

Thank you everyone for the fun run. 2 hours and 20 minutes flew so fast! I couldn’t believe I didn’t get bored at all.  And because everyone was so nice and the atmosphere relaxed, it made the training less difficult.

breakfast after the morning's run

Breakfast at St. James Bazaar

Thanks South peeps and I hope to join you next run! 🙂

*Thanks Jehan for the photos.

One thought on “LSD with Dreamers from the South

Leave a Reply

