Reboot!

I’m doomed. That’s what my cardiologist believes because I have a positive family history of hypertension and diabetes. She prescribed me four pills last Thursday: Losartan, Clopidogrel, Atorvastatin, and Metformin and also advised me to diet and exercise.

Back home, I immediately googled The Daniel Plan by Rick Warren upon the recommendation of my sister Joy.  She said that she already lost 8 lbs. in 22 days by following its program. Wow.

The Daniel Plan is co-authored by Dr. Mark Hyman.  I found a very interesting video of Dr. Hyman on YouTube. Please watch this:

(If you have trouble viewing the video, click HERE.)

Nice video, right? So last Saturday I went out and bought his book, The Blood Sugar Solution. (P1,099 Fully Booked)

The Blood Sugar Solution

I loved it when he said, “What you put at the end of your fork is more powerful medicine than anything you will find at the bottom of a pill bottle. Food is the most powerful medicine available to heal chronic disease, which will account for over 50 million deaths and cost the global economy $47 trillion by 2030. All you need to do is eat your medicine and think of your grocery store as your pharmacy.”

He also believes that Type II diabetes is NOT genetic and it is reversible. Wow, I have hope.

I’ve been taking Losartan and Clopidogrel since March and I feel worse now than when I wasn’t taking them. Then my doctor gave me two more pills: Atorvastatin (for cholesterol) and Metformin (for blood sugar) because she said my numbers are borderline, that diabetes is already waving its hand at me as if saying hello. Well, I have decided that I won’t take the two new pills. Instead, I’m giving myself a chance to heal by eating the right food. I’m going to follow Dr. Hyman’s 6-week program.

Below are my test results taken in January (three weeks before marathon day), March 17 (after my stroke scare), and last week, May 21st.

blood tests

Current Weight: 139 lbs.

Waistline: 34 inches

BMI: 25.4

Waist-to-height ratio: 54 (overweight)

Let’s see if things will improve after six weeks.

So I’m starting today, May 29, 2014.

For the first week, I am to avoid

  • All sugars in any form whatsoever.
  • All flour products (even gluten-free).
  • All processed food.
  • All gluten and dairy.
  • All grains and starchy vegetables and fruit (except for 1/2 cup of berries a day).

And I will include:

  • High-quality foods.
  • Low glycemic-load meals.
  • Phytonutrient-rich foods.
  • Slow carbs, not low carbs.
  • Omega-3 fats and other healthy fats.
  • High quality protein.
  • Herbs and healing spices.
  • Three square meals and two snacks.
  • Mindful eating.

I’m rebooting my systems and its going to be a challenge. I hope you will cheer for me, or better yet, join me!

Tonight's dinner: prawns and broccoli with oyster sauce

Tonight’s dinner: steamed prawns and broccoli drizzled with oyster sauce

Related Links:
The Blood Sugar Solution
Dr. Hyman.com
The Daniel Plan

8 thoughts on “Reboot!

  1. Happy for you, Ne! I saw your chart and so I’m loving your OC-ness! Good to have it so you can really track your improvement… and I saw that your BP has gone low already. Your food list is a reminder for me to keep my grocery in check, too. I want to get my mom that book (The Blood Sugar Solution) also.

    Keep us posted on your Reboot program! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: It Works | sandi's diaries

Leave a Reply

