Update: The Blood Sugar Solution

Let me state the obvious. Getting and staying healthy in our modern world is a heroic feat. It is a subversive and revolutionary act. We have to navigate dangerous landscapes, resist carefully designed temptations at every turn, fight marketing that goes right after our primitive hard-wired survival impulses, and fend off food pushers, saboteurs, and a thousand distractions online, on television, and in other media. – Dr. Mark Hyman.

Dr. Hyman absolutely knew what he was talking about. As a matter of fact, it described how I lived in the past five weeks. I am now on my sixth and final week of The Blood Sugar Solution program and I can say that it has revolutionized my life.

First, I spent a lot of time in the supermarket reading labels. You wouldn’t believe how shocked I was when I saw the sugar content of the yogurt drink and the chocolate milk I used to buy for my kids. I honestly thought I was giving them healthy food when in fact, it was all just sugar. It really made me sad. One time at the checkout counter, I only had 3 items in my basket. There was nothing “correct” to buy! Now I frequent markets. I buy food without labels, food that is whole and real, lots of greens and fresh fruits.

Our kitchen also changed dramatically. No more white rice, white bread, and sugar. No more cookies, instant noodles, and dairy. No more hotdogs, tocino, and longganisa. No more Cheetos and M & M’s. At first, our helper rebelled against my “no white” policy. She wanted to cook breaded fried chicken and argued that my kids won’t eat the chicken if it was not breaded. Next she wanted to cook ebi tempura. I said no. She complained that my kids hardly touched the brown rice. I told her we should try out new recipes that my kids will love without using white flour.

So what do we do with the day-old brown rice? Fried rice, of course. Using just a small amount of palm oil I sautéed lots of garlic, ginger (excellent anti-inflamatory), and onion. Then I added carrots, sweet peas, scrambled egg, a bit of kikoman then topped it with green onion. My kids ate it. They never knew it was brown rice.
fried rice

The program requires planning and preparation of meals and snacks. When I have to be out on the road for a long time, I’d bring a bag of nuts and a bottle of water with me. Unprepared, I was again on the road last Wednesday. It was already two in the afternoon and I still haven’t eaten my lunch. In a moment of weakness, I stopped by a dimsum house and bought myself a siopao. The bun was so hot, soft, and white. It used to be my favorite but that day, I only ate half. It was too sweet for me.

Last night, during the thunderstorm, the power went out. Since it was too hot to stay home, the whole family decided to go out for pizza. I ate one slice.

Something has changed. Now everything seemed too sweet or too salty, and I easily get full.

Do I still have cravings? Yes. Last week while watching a movie on TV I craved for my favorite munch, Cheetos. Good thing I didn’t have it at home because there was no way I would drive out to get myself a bag. I have learned to win the battle in the supermarket. If I still buy and keep Cheetos in my kitchen, I’m so sure in a moment of weakness, I’d eat it.

1376486_723343524372414_1535258962_n

The Blood Sugar Solution is actually for seven weeks: one week preparation (that’s when you clean out your kitchen of the bad stuff and replace them with the good stuff), and six-week program. During the preparation week, I already lost three pounds which brought down my official starting weight to 139. Now, five weeks later, I weigh 134 pounds with a BMI of 24.6. I am no longer overweight. Amazing.

After the sixth week, I will again have my blood tested and I’m actually excited to see the results. Hopefully, the numbers will be better.

After finishing this program, I will stop counting the weeks but I will definitely continue with this lifestyle. I have come so far with this journey and I can’t go back to my old ways. No, I won’t go back.

 

Related posts:

Reboot!

I Survived

Week 2: The Blood Sugar Solution

Related links:

The Wellness Hour video

bloodsugarsolution.com

drhyman.com

9 thoughts on “Update: The Blood Sugar Solution

  1. Kuddos to you! I too have decided to change our ways of eating. I started reading and applying the tips in The Daniel Plan of which Dr. Hyman is a art of. Just like you, got rid or finished all our chips so that we won’t have them available at home when we feel like binging. It’s a challenge to go to the grocery and choose healthier products but it take 30 days to break habits so we will ge there. I may not totally eliminate sugar but I don’t bake anymore and have diverted my passion into sewing just to keep my hands busy. LOL. I feel better already in the past week.

  2. Pingback: It Works | sandi's diaries

Leave a Reply

