Yesterday, I Ran

Dear running path,

Yesterday was not like most afternoons. It was drizzling and windy so I laced up my Mizunos and ran.

running path

Oh my old running path, quiet, winding, long, and narrow, I missed you so much!  I was instantly calmed when I inhaled the salty water of the ocean. Ahh! I remembered how I loved running countless loops while training for the marathon here, alone, months and months ago.

running path 1

I ran without a watch.  No GPS, no timer, no run-walk set interval, just you, me, and the wind.  It was great. I couldn’t believe it took me so long to run this way again. Did you also miss me?

running path

Soon enough the sun began to set and the insects started to bite.  It was time to go home.  I’ll see you again, path.

sunset

5 thoughts on “Yesterday, I Ran

Leave a Reply

