It Works

It was in May of this year when I was prescribed Atrovastatin, which is a cholesterol-lowering medication that blocks the production of cholesterol and Metformin, an oral antidiabetic agent, prescribed for type 2 diabetes and said to help control blood sugar levels.

Call me crazy but I didn’t follow my doctor’s prescription, rather, I decided to give myself a chance to heal without taking the drugs. I believed Dr. Mark Hyman when he said,

Treating risk factors like high cholesterol is misguided. We must treat causes – what we eat, how much we exercise, how we handle stress, our social connections and environmental toxins are all more powerfully linked to creating health and preventing disease than any drug on the market.

Remember what you put at the end of your fork is more powerful than anything you will ever find at the bottom of a pill bottle.

Source: http://drhyman.com/blog/2012/01/19/why-women-should-stop-their-cholesterol-lowering-medication/

Even though I run regularly, I must admit that I ate poorly for years.  My heart attack scare was a wake up call.  I took the 6-week challenge of Dr. Hyman’s The Blood Sugar Solution and lost 8 lbs. After six weeks, I continued to eat whole and real food, maybe a few slips here and there, but overall my white rice, white flour, and sugar consumption was definitely lower than before. I gained back 2 lbs. and then my weight settled. A 6-lb. loss is not bad at all.  I wish to lose more, maybe I’ll start another 6-week cycle this January.

Not everything is about weight loss. I did another blood test last December 19 and the results were great!  I was surprised and the numbers made me very happy – definitely a non-scale victory (NSV).

Please take a look:

blood test results

Isn’t it amazing? No drugs.  Just real food.

Dr. Mark Hyman

 

 

3 thoughts on “It Works

  1. Very impressive! Cholesterol, triglycerides, etc—- all improved! Do you feel significantly better than before? What’s the effect on your other symptoms before like asthma, headache, fatigue? What did your doctor say?

Leave a Reply

